July 6, 2022



Ted Cruz, Dan Crenshaw among Texas politicians banned from entering Russia in new sanctions list

2 min read

The Russian Federation on Saturday released an updated list of U.S. citizens barred from entering the country, part of a campaign of retaliatory sanctions against American politicians in response to U.S. support of Ukrainian forces currently at war with the Russian army.  

The list of 963 American citizens features 22 Texas politicians, including Sen. Ted Cruz and Rep. Dan Crenshaw, both Republicans. Four of the politicians banned are based in Houston.

The list of banned Texas politicians, in alphabetical order:

  1. Rep. Jodey Arrington (R–Lubbock)
  2. Rep. Brian Philip Babin (R–Woodville)
  3. Rep. Michael Burgess (R–Pilot Point)
  4. Rep. Kevin Brady (R–The Woodlands)
  5. Rep. Michael Cloud (R–Victoria)
  6. Sen. John Cornyn (R–Houston)
  7. Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R–Houston)
  8. Sen. Ted Cruz (R–Houston)
  9. Rep. Henry Cuellar (D–Laredo)
  10. Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D–Austin)
  11. Rep. Jake Ellzey (R–Waxahachie)
  12. Rep. Veronica Escobar (D–El Paso)
  13. Rep. Pat Fallon (R–Sherman)
  14. Rep. Kay Granger (R–Fort Worth)
  15. Rep. Lance Gooden (R–Terrell)
  16. Rep. Ronny Jackson (R–Amarillo)
  17. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D–Houston)
  18. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D–Dallas)
  19. Rep. Michael McCaul (R–Austin)
  20. Rep. August Pfluger (R–San Angelo)
  21. Rep. Randy Weber (R–Friendswood)
  22. Rep. Roger Williams (R–Austin)

Other prominent U.S. politicians on the list include President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris. Former President Donald Trump and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell are not among those currently facing sanctions.

Russian authorities issued a statement explaining the “stop list” as a response to American sanctions imposed against the country for its invasion of Ukraine. 

“In the context of response to the constantly imposed anti-Russian sanctions by the United States and in connection with incoming requests about the personal composition of our national ‘stop list,’ the Russian Foreign ministry publishes a list of American citizens who are permanently banned from entering the Russian Federation,” the statement reads.

See also  Texas man brandishes pool noodle to fend off emu in viral TikToks

The statement doesn’t list individual reasons for the bans, but many of those facing sanctions have served on armed services, defense and budget committees.

Cruz, a longtime critic of Russia, came under fire earlier this month for refusing to make public appeals in favor of the return of ex-U.S. Marine Trevor Reed, a Texas-born former soldier who spent more than two years in Russian prison after allegedly assaulting a police officer in the country in 2019. Since their son’s return home to Granbury, Texas in February, Reed’s family has criticized Cruz for repeatedly turning down their pleas for help in securing his release. Cruz maintains that he avoided making overt gestures in their son’s favor for fear of further complicating matters.

“We were repeatedly advised by Administration officials that my taking a public role in this specific case would be counterproductive,” Cruz said in a May statement. “And that because of my role fighting to stop the Nord Stream 2 pipeline, leaders in Russia may well have linked the two issues.” 


Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.